American Pharoah Wins Triple Crown
Horse Racing News

From: June Equestrian and Horse News 2015

See also: AscotGold Cup Horse Show Dates Horse RacingCompetitionsCheltenham

Horse Picture

American Pharoah Wins Triple Crown
The Bob Baffert trained colt American Pharoah has won the prestigious American Triple Crown which has not been won for a staggering 37 years.

American Pharoah who was ridden superbly by jockey Victor Espinoza finished an incredible 5.5 lengths ahead of the rest of the field despite a challenge early on by Materiality who faded away slowly towards the end of the race, to leave the Godolphin Racing LLC owned Frosted in eventual second place ahead of Keen Ice who is owned by Donegal Racing to take third and Mubtaahij who is owned by Sheikh Mohamed Bin Khalifa Al Maktoum in fourth.

American Pharoah who is sired by Pioneerof the Nile is owned by Ahmed Zayat and is only the 12th horse to win the Triple Crown which is awarded to the winner of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes has only ever been won now by 12 horses since its very first winner Sir Barton back in 1919.


American Pharoah Grade 1 Wins... So Far

Triple Crown Winners