Badminton Horse Trials Winner

From - Equestrian and Horse News

Horse Picture

Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials
The winner of the Badminton Horse trials was Oliver Townend who showed his excellent horsemanship throughout all three phases of the competition.

Oliver Townend rode the beautiful looking grey horse Flint Curtis who is owned by Edward and Robert Nicholson and on whom he already has a firm partnership with. It was on this horse that Oliver Townend won the £100,000 Express eventing class on in November 2008 and who he came 3rd on at Badminton in 2006.

This years competition was very close throughout the whole of the competition and with so many top class riders and horses competing it was anyone's trophy.

In the lead after dressage was Karin Donckers riding Gazelle de la Brasserie with a score of 74.11% for her test and a penalty score of 38.8 and she was closely followed by Lucy Wiegersma riding Shaabrack on 39.7 and Oliver Townend on 40.5 penalties.

After the cross country the top five placing's were still very tight with Oliver Townend leading on his dressage score of 40.5 followed closely by Lucy Wiegersma who added 0.8 for time penalties to her dressage score to leave her in second position of 40.5. Roberto Rotatori stayed on his dressage score of 43.7 to move into third position and William Fox-Pitt and Idalgo moved into 4th place on a score of 45.2. The overnight dressage leader Karen Donkers picked up 6.4 time penalties and dropped into 5th position.

This meant for a very exciting show jumping finale on Sunday. On the final day Oliver Townend had only one show jump in hand in order to win the famous Badminton Trophy and he used it up on the planks to finish 0.7 points ahead of the rest of the field. Lucy Wiegersma's horse Shaabrack unfortunately dropped 3 fences moving them into 6th place, Roberto Rotatori also had three fences down but only dropped one place putting him into 4th place and Karen Donkers also lowered three fences putting her into 7th place. William Fox-Pitt on Idalgo went clear and moved up into second place and Sam Griffiths also went clear on Happy Times to finish in third place.

The final results are:

Armada Dishes - These are awarded to riders who have completed Badminton 5 times. This year they were awarded to:

11th May 2009